Posted in Challenge, College, Fall, Life and Likes, Rules by Annazzz

Information Translation

Good evening! Hey, y’all!

Our Important Question of The Night is: Do you prefer pencil or pens? Or, how about chalk, markers, or a slim device to clutch while delivering information? Pens for sure, and I’m not sure about the second part. I guess I prefer a device while speaking. I have no preference anymore really. A nice pencil with the right lead will always get the job done in my opinion. But the others aren’t really things most people run into everyday, unless they possess a certain job: instructing.

From elementary school levels to doctoral programs, most instructors have to pick a teaching medium. My favorite in elementary were the smart boards, especially when my teacher spent part of her planning period to make graphics dance to greet us when we got back for class. In my opinion, chalkboards were always so interesting. I think it’s because they denote a “classic” style of teaching. Agreed, but I never had that until high school to know. It’s really intriguing.

This post might seem a bit random. However, while we have had posts that are just random, I feel like this is interesting to reflect on since we are both nearing the end of our first semester in college (yikes times eight!!! Ahhhhhhhh O.O). I know that I personally have experienced a variety of mediums in my classes.

It totally isn’t random. One of the biggest challenges for preparing for exams has been figuring out how to translate the material given us into a way we can understand then back into a way to show on tests. For me that’s meant rewriting everything. For ACG, she gets a little creative… My psychology information is currently splashed across my bedroom door in rainbow chalk. My bedroom door was painted with chalkboard specifically for scenarios like this. Exactly because it is best to make use of the many, many different mediums to transpose information. I also like to type information out from study guides that the amazing professors like to give for tests.

These are just some random meanderings and thoughts about information mediums. Some are more old school like chalkboards, but like me, some of those same chalkboard fans can still appreciate the technological opportunities that have been provided. In the classrooms there are combinations of most every method present, but how we choose to translate that best for our learning is completely up to us.

So, wish us luck with all of this as we study for finals. Good luck to y’all for every test or quiz y’all may be facing. Keep your worms in the cookie jar and your lights in the trees. ❤ 🙂 😀 😉 😛 O.o  

Drive safely. ❤

Leave a Reply

