A Platonic Love Letter To My Soul Sister/Sister Queen

Today is the last Saturday I, AJA, will be posting from my favorite cushion in my living room. 

It’s mid August, which means colleges and universities all over the country are about to begin classes and move-in. 

By this time next week, ACG and I both will have started a new chapter in our lives.

I’m excited but scared because this will be the first time in a very long time I will not have my other half within a couple miles from me at the most. I’m trying not to think about that. I’m trying not to think about how much I’m going to miss ACG. But I can’t help it.

All I can think about is how much I’m going to miss her and how much I wish sometimes that we weren’t a yin-yang duo but identical copies, although that would be terribly boring. So, I understand why we are traveling different paths, but it doesn’t make the hurt of separation any less. 

All of this to say, I want to write ACG a letter publicly about this transition that is most definitely not a goodbye.

So,

Dear ACG,

You are one the most special people on this planet. When I walk into a room, I am immediately searching for you because I know that no matter what, you aren’t going to let me–or anyone–get hurt. You do what’s right most of the time. You protect those you love. You are strong and brave and courageous, so I know you are going to slay at this new adventure. 

Five years ago, I could not have fathomed calling you my best friend. I would not have dreamed that your family would claim me as a part of yours. I had no expectations of graduating from our high school as one of Those Girls who have best friend they are inseparable from. But I wouldn’t change it for the entire world.

I know we have had our differences and our struggles. I know there have been fights and long night and tears and frustration, but we’ve worked through it. We’ve grown. We have a strong bond, not because we are perfect, not because we always get along, but because we were willing to put in the work on the days when it would’ve been easier to walk away. 

This is beginning to sound like a love letter, and it is. I think platonic love letters are highly underrated, so I’m writing one. You are my sister queen. I could not rule a kingdom alone. I could not have slayed my dragons without your hand (or pinkie) reaching for mine during the long nights of battle. And I’m not saying that there aren’t roars and smoke and growls that still plague me, but I know that you are not afraid to help, that you willingly steady my sword when I can’t do it for myself. 

You are a beautiful person inside and out. I envy your confidence. You radiate power and strength. You know what you deserve or, at least, you should because you deserve everything. You are a queen after all. 

I want to tell you that this is all going to be fun and exciting, but I’d be lying. It’s going to hurt. But we aren’t just queens. We’re warriors. We are capable. You are capable of so much greatness. 

You don’t have to know exactly what you’re doing right now. I don’t. I doubt anyone does. So, just breathe. You were made for this. You were gifted with a brilliant mind and deep and complex thoughts. Use them. Take advantage of these new experiences to let your brain free. 

This is hard. This is a transition, but queens are not easily knocked down by change. They stand at the forefront and push for new ideas.

So, I encourage you to stand with me, and with trembling hearts lets embrace this. 

Long live the queens! Long live us! ❤

 

PS- ACG, if you still wanna post tonight, I am totally game. It’s only right that we post together, if that’s what you desire. 

PPS- I’d say expect a second post, but I don’t know what she’ll say yet. So, until next time, drive safely. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

