Allegiant….o.O

Hey, y’all. I would like to say that tonight’s topic is because we have done the two previous movies before this one (technically we’ve only done the second because this blog was not around right after the first ;), but… it is still tradition whoops). It will not be a review, just a bit of commentary on it. As you may know, yesterday was the release of the third Divergent movie, “Allegiant.” The quotes are both grammatical and ironic (in the colocalized use of the word). This movie was definitely…a movie…based (sort of) off a book.  

Being the slight tech geek that I can be from time to time, the future tech and special effects were amazing. In my opinion, they were wasteful and irritating, but I guess they were sorta pretty. The movie in itself was not necessarily bad, it just really did not need to be called the third in the series. It seemed to have become the playdough version of the clay model–being the plot from the book–which means it did not dry as well so when it was moved into the camera, it squished and deformed a bit.

Okay, we disagree entirely because I thought it was a bad movie overall. I mean, it wasn’t awful, but if you hadn’t read the series to understand why a few things happened I can’t imagine it made a ton of sense, even if you had read the book it didn’t make a ton of sense. I wish I were an objective viewer, though. I’m pretty sure I’m bias. I don’t know. My feelings were hurt. I was disappointed. I don’t know why they’re prolonging the end of the series. I don’t understand that part either. They could’ve ended it on this movie. Easily. I keep going back and forth on how I feel about it when I separate it from the books or compare it to them. As a fan of more than just the series and ultimately the writer behind the series, I’m grateful that this is happening for Veronica Roth’s sake and the fact it gets the concept of the work to to other people (and encourages them to read the actual books), but personally I wish there weren’t movies at all to wreck this amazing series.

My sense of details is not strong enough to be a good person to really give an opinion because a lot of it is based on the fact that it was pretty (sorta) and the graphics were high quality (like basically all movies are now, but still). I will share my favorite quote, though. It is from Christina: “Keep your hands to yourself or I will throw you out.” They were about to take off in basically a helicopter. It was very her and very amusing. The first movie stuck to the plot line pretty well (well, kinda well–Uriah, Lynn, and Marlene have been missing the entire time), and as a reader of the series, I wish the trend would have been continued. Uriah is a whole other can of worms I try not to think about, though.

Remember when escaping from a bizarre airport turned research lab to drive safely. ❤

Keep your hands, feet, and all objects in the vehicle at all times and your toes in the air like you just do not care. 😀 🙂 ❤ 😉 😛 :O :/ 😦 -_- ;P

Leave a Reply

