A Week on Poetry

Hey, y’all. Happy day…I guess. I am probably being a cheery sunshiney optimist, but hey at least we had a day today. It could have been night or the zombie apocalypse or fire or ice. Anyway, I digress. Sort of.

Sorry about last week. My computer likes to murder things, which is actually somehow relevant to this week’s topic: poetry. In the past two or three weeks, we’ve studied poetry in our English class, and poetry tends to have one of two focuses: death or love.

We sort of had a week of ice. Or a few days of ice to ruin social plans. It wasn’t even really enough ice to count here (if any). There was snow, yes. It was sort of just enough to be annoying, though, in my opinion. Okay, I am done being a brat about that, now. Go read Shakespeare’s “Winter” for more information.

The poetry we discussed was often about pining, but I do have to say “A Valediction: Forbidding Mourning” has become my favorite despite the fact it’s mostly romantic and I’m not too keen on love poems. I think it’s because it features math and also poetry.

I like the name of that one and the fact that they are connected even when they are apart; it’s a sophisticated kind of love. My favorites are more towards “To His Coy Mistress” because I interpret it all kinds of not like my teacher; “Death, be not proud” because I like the fact that the speaker is not afraid of death because it is not as permanent as it likes to pretend to be; and “Snow White and the Seven Deadly Sins” is kind of too edgy for our high school class, but I found it and really liked the thought that she got away. I don’t know that I could make myself pick a favorite though because I liked most of them that I read on some level.

Another one (that was a fan favorite and a long time personal favorite) was “Do Not Go Gently into That Good Night” by Dylan Thomas. It’s pretty popular overall, too, and a good reminder as any to drive safely.

And don’t freeze. As always, keep your face in the dryer and your quill in the doorframe. 😉 😀 😛 🙂 :O ❤ 🙂 😀

Leave a Reply

