Best Friend

Hello, all!

Tonight ACG is not joining me, and I alone shall be writing our post. Now, onward.

I feel like there’s never a wrong time to talk about the important of best friends, which is exactly what I’d like to give my two cents worth on. (Ugh. I ended a sentence with a preposition.)

ACG is my best friend, and for that I think I’m extremely lucky. We don’t always agree and we don’t always-always get along, I think this blog has even seen some of that, but ultimately she is one of my favorite people in the universe, if not my favorite person. She’s the kind of person that tells you how it is. She’s honest. She’s not afraid to be herself, and she’s not afraid for you to be yourself either. She’s a daredevil and fearless and also kinds of crazy. She’s confident and beautiful and I don’t know how I got her as my best friend honestly I swore when we first met we’d never get along, but she’s funny and can make me laugh even when I’ve wanted to never wake up. She knows me better than essentially anyone. She’s also the kind of person to randomly give you cards or letters or pandas or pocket sized people or make your giraffe baby a reality or bring your green folder by your house because she loves you and is insane and also probably a ninja in training. She’s so, so, so creative (ahem. she made a giraffe baby out of pipe cleaners and she finished writing her first novel on Thursday!!! (I am so proud of her by the way!!!)) and she’s not afraid of magic (I’m specifically talking about implementing it in stories but take that on whatever level you’d like). And, she’s brilliant. So brilliant, sun and moon and stars brilliant. Lights like New York City brilliant. I’m not just talking about her intelligence, but just her person overall. I mean, she has her flaws and bad moments too, and I acknowledge that she’s fully human, but that’s part of what’s so incredible about her.

I don’t always say it because she’d probably roll her eyes at me, but I am incredibly lucky to have someone like her in my life. People underestimate something so simple as friendship, and it really gets under my skin. I mean, I love romance as much as the next person, but I don’t and never have had a “true love” but I do have a best friend, and I think that’s kind of amazing. I think she’s kind of amazing.

So, next time you see your best friend maybe tell them that you love them, and remember how lucky you are to have them. And maybe also tell them to drive safely.

Leave a Reply

