The Best Post of 2014…Maybe.

In case anyone out there was worried, yes I and or we realize that we have to make this good because it’s the LAST POST OF 2014!!! It flew, we grew (did we? did we really grow?), and learned things old (can you learn old things? Really? Really, Sonny? (That wasn’t a reference from a 2009 show, nope nope nope.) History, duh.) and new.

2014 has been…well, it could’ve been worse. We didn’t die. ;-D (Look, I’m even using emoticons now.She misses the emoticons…awww *wipes tear*) So, we’re here to discuss the HIGHS of 2014. (This might be a short post *looks away.*)

Okay, pessimist Peggy. (Am I related to a Peggy? I feel like I am.) Anyway, favorite things from 2014…starting with…

 

…books. Go!

I liked that one book with that one boy and that one girl who did the thing and it somehow saved the world from total destruction? Yeah. That one.

Or maybe I mean Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Because that book came out in 2014, even though I think the series started in…2012? Sounds right. (Checked on Goodreads. Verified. Bam.)

I don’t know that I can pick. Or remember everything I read in this year.

Okay, so, like I think I read more books that were published earlier than 2014 this year than not, but also I like was kind of not actively involved in my interests, so I can’t remember anything else either.  

I guess my favorite(other than the Obsidian series because it was pretty raw and I found it first. She did. She’s good like that.) was that I was still discovering and reading my Prince of Wolves babies and then the Into the Fae series after that by Quinn Loftis that if you can get past the language, is a very good story even if it is third person and yes, has werewolves but they are NOT LIKE THE TWILIGHT WOLVES, PEOPLE! (Twilight and them are kind of equal in my mind, if I’m being honest. But not because the world building was the same. Just…the vibe.)  I don’t have a problem with Twilight, they even reference the series, I’m just saying that the wolves aren’t the same because anytime someone hears werewolves, Jacob and his friends come to mind.

 

How are they different exactly? I haven’t read enough to really know. Yeah, the wolves are affected by their emotions but they don’t phase because of vampires in the area and they don’t imprint exactly. They have mate signs but it’s always with another wolf or gypsy healer until later in the series when another species is introduced into that mix.

They’re also not made to be predators and kill things, they were actually “created” when wolves were being hunted to extinction to save the creatures by combining man’s wisdom with the wolf’s nature, body, and strength. Plus, all of these wolves run around with their clothes on most all of the time. Their shifting isn’t erratic enough that they have to watch out for the whole shredding problem. And there are packs all over and not just Indian magic. And there you have it. The magic of The Prince of Wolves series and companions explained by an uber fan. Don’t even think that scratches the surface of it. That’s just a small glimpse into their origin and mating. I didn’t even get into the bonding ceremony or mate bond.

 

THE YOUNG ELITES BY MARIE LU IS BAE! There! I remembered one! I also would recommend the Mila 2.0 series by Debra Driza if you like sci-fi-y stuff. (As a fair warning the Mila series started a little slow for my taste. Even I’ll admit that, but it’s kind of worth it if you’re patient.) And The Museum of Intangible Things by Wendy Wunder is a GREAT book. I love it. It’s contemporary and kind of a great book that features the discussion of mental illness, which I think is v. important. (There are other swell books, but… I’d be here all night if I tried to list them.)

 

On top of that, I think one of my favorite movies is either Pizza My Heart (which totally did not come out in 2014 no but we watched it in 2014 ah, but you said things that came out in 2014 earlier I didn’t mean to but yeah, there you have it) because it was an epic Netflix find or Big Hero 6 (which bites I never got to see in theaters).

I find movies hard to watch. Little bit. Um. Short attention span and all.  Maleficent was grand. I got a copy for Christmas ^-^. Mockingjay Part 1 was killer. But really Maleficent had to be number one for me.

 

Before ACG gets down here to discuss music. I will not be reckoned with that any song other than Yellow Flicker Beat by Lorde or the entire album of 1989 were the best in music. She can say what she will, but those are my faves.

Except…this one song she made me listen to last night. Grrr. Thank you very much, it’s called “Take Your Time” by Sam Hunt and it’s GREAT.

I also liked “I Don’t Dance” by Lee Brice (oh, yeah, this song… I was just hit with feels…), “I’ve Got a Car” by George Strait I believe, “Shut Me Up” by Elle Lindsey I think, and “Ball Cap” by Glen Templeton. Oh! And “Famous” by Kelleigh Bannen and “Wish I Could Break Your Heart” by Cassadee Pope. And “Girl in a Country Song” by Maddie and Tae (This one is important for SO many reasons).

I could go on and on but I’ll stop there.

And lastly “Immortals” by Fall Out Boys which is the only non country song so it had to be added separately.

Oh! Wait! I forgot my CD boyfriend. Ed Sheeran! His album Multiply (Or “X” if you must) was like the thing that fed me during the summer.

Yeah, I’m with AJA’s mom. Ed Sheeran isn’t my favorite but that’s okay. She likes him so…that’s cool.

*bats eyes* I still think that one person who sometimes sings his songs while playing random guitars that we both are in class with, yeah, him. He’s moderately better. …Moderately.

Okay, I guess I moderately (I hate you.) know who you’re referring to…but I digress.

OH! One more book that I found, like, yesterday is called Runes (by Ednah Walters? I think? It is.). Just thought I’d let y’all know.

 

So, this post might not have been the best post EVER, but that’s because 2014 was not the best year EVER. That will be 2015. ;-D

Except the small fact that I turned 16 and got my license this year but, hey, no biggie. I turned seventeen…and…yeah, that’s it. I aged. Whoo! one more… Wait. Eight months ‘til I’m an adult! (That’s not enthusiasm. That’s terror, my friends.)

 

So, until next year… DRIVE SAFELY…you hooligans!

Feet in the outlet. (Don’t.)

Nose in the ceiling. (These are not good ideas.)

And shoes and cells in the lake. (This sounds like a murder mystery.)

 

🙂 😀 😛 😉 ;D :’D

 

*Salutes survivors of 2014*

*Mockingjay salutes non-survivors of 2014*

*Marches boldly with stilettos into 2015*

Consider yourself slayed, New…Year!

Leave a Reply

